Short Tours & Excursions for cruise ship passengers visiting the Bay of Islands
Historic Kerikeri Tour with Lunch
The first stop on this tour takes us to the breath-taking Rainbow Falls. There are three stunning viewing platforms are at the top of the Rainbow Falls, all of which offer great photo opportunities.
Our next stop is the Makana Chocolate Factory to sample their hand made chocolates and time to visit the adjacent Kauri Workshop which has crafts and collectibles for sale.
We then move on to the Kerikeri Mission Station which was established in 1819. There are two significant buildings, “The Stone Store” built in 1832, originally used as a Missionary Society warehouse and the adjacent “Kemp House”, New Zealand’s oldest building completed in 1821/22 by missionary carpenters and Maori sawyers.
While we are at Mission Station, we will visit the historic Plough & Feather pub, where clients will have lunch along with a glass of locally made beer or wine (all included in the price).
The last stop of the day is the Waitangi look-out Loop. This is a final chance to take photos of the stunning views over Waitangi, Russell, and the Bay of Islands, before your transportation back to the Wharf.
Choice of Kerikeri as Site of Second Mission Station
On the 12 August 1819, the Rev. Samuel Marsden came again to the Bay of Islands, anchoring at Rangihoua where the first mission station was established in 1814. He brought a second group of three missionaries with three carpenters and their families.
When it became known that there was to be a second station, old enmities flared between Hongi Hika and Korokoro, chief of Ngare Raumati of the south side of the Bay of Islands, for both wanted the new settlement in his district. Not that either chief was keen for his people to adopt the new religion, but they both realised that more shipping was coming to the Bay now that Europeans were living on its shores. Increasingly the Maori were trading with the shipping, bartering their pigs and potatoes for European goods.
Hongi Hika invited Marsden to look at Kerikeri as a prospective site for the new station. On Tuesday afternoon, 17 August, Marsden, accompanied by the missionaries, the Rev. John Butler, William Hall and Francis Hall, arrived with Hongi Hika in his large war canoe to examine the land. Marsden wrote:
“On the whole of the survey we had taken we were perfectly satisfied that a more suitable situation cannot be found in any of the adjacent districts of the Bay of Islands. There is a fine fall of water close to the place where we intend the new town to stand for a corn mill, saw mill or any other purpose, without the risk of expense of making a dam, which is a valuable consideration. At Kiddee Kiddee any amount of grain etc may be grown that the settlement may want for years to come, either for victualling the native children in the schools or Europeans belonging to the mission.